RSS

Spring

10 Apr

Glorious spring, with the warming weather, the grass growing (great we have to mow), and of course all the colors. Spring brings Easter, flowers, and butterflies. So this morning, which always starts early, I thought I’d share some of my spring inspired cakes.

This was the cake that got other people interested in my decorating, they just couldn’t believe that I could achieve something that looks so bright from scratch.

These two were for my daughters 7th birthday. She really wanted butterflies, and since we have such a large family, we needed two. So I borrowed a pan from my dad, and went to work. In the end she got two different cakes that were almost the same since they used the same colors.

Butterflies have to be my all time favorite cakes to do, what with their vibrant colors, and yet the simplicity of the design. They can look any way you want, and therefor it gives you a different cake every time.

While not actually having been done for spring, this still has a beautiful spring feel to it. The tulips are made from marshmallows, buttercream frosting, and fondant. The whole thing is a flower box, in which the tulips were to grow. The dirt was made from crushed up teddy bear crackers. I know I killed the poor innocent teddy bears. πŸ™‚ All in all it was a neat cake, for something I hadn’t attempted before. This was my first attempt at fondant flowers.

Till next time, happy baking!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2012 in Cakes

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Spring

  1. Alysn

    April 10, 2012 at 11:38 am

    I love your cakes! They are so beautiful!

     
    • bakingchani

      April 10, 2012 at 4:18 pm

      Thanks! And thanks for stopping by!

       
  2. Brandie Jordan

    April 10, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    Chani cakes!! I love muh Chani and her cakes!

     
  3. mydearbakes

    April 18, 2012 at 7:33 am

    Thanks for sharing! I love your cakes, they have a bright and cheery feel to it πŸ™‚

     
    • bakingchani

      April 18, 2012 at 6:03 pm

      Thanks! And thanks for stopping by and checking it out. πŸ™‚

       

Leave a Reply

 
