RSS

Wedding Cake Memories

11 Apr

As I sit here putting off doing the laundry that needs done before we leave for my cousin’s wedding this weekend, I am reminded of one of the big reasons why I really wanted to get into cake baking and decorating. When I first really got into the decorating aspect, I kept thinking how cool it would be if I was lucky enough to make wedding cakes. After all every good baker knows that business starts with weddings. First the wedding, then the baby shower, then birthday’s and anniversaries, etc.

So when the opportunity arose for me to make my brother-in-laws wedding cake, who was I to say no? After all it was a great opportunity to give them a beautiful cake, and to do something that I love all at the same time. So we sat down so they could let me know what they wanted and I swear the conversation went like this:

Flavor? Chocolate Pecan. No problem

Shape? Square. No problem

Look? Ivory colored buttercream frosting, with chocolate drizzles, chocolate shavings, and of course chocolate covered strawberries. No problem.

After a while I was starting to think that I was never going to pull this cake off. After all the picture  they originally showed me was beautiful.  Nevertheless when the time came, I spent all day in the kitchen baking a fantastic chocolate pecan cake for them, made a beautiful shade of ivory buttercream, and was starting to feel really good when the chocolate drizzles started to look like this:

A few chocolate shavings, and covered strawberries later I had all the pieces to what promised to be a great cake.

Then of course I still had to get it to the restaurant where they wanted to cut it….. So I loaded it all up in to boxes and carefully drove the 25 minutes to the restaurant, handed all the pieces over to the wait staff and begged them to please don’t drop my cake.

After the wedding, I rushed back to the restaurant and began assembling it before the bride and groom arrived. And the end product was even more lovely than I had imagined it to be:

One happy couple later, and it was easy to call this endeavor into wedding cakes a success.

Until next time happy baking!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2012 in Cakes

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Wedding Cake Memories

  1. Lina~EccentricChai

    April 11, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    Looks yum 😀

     
  2. Edie Hoeckel

    April 11, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    That Cake just Looked Amazingly Delicious !! …I like your blog and the stories about your cakes, good job Girl !!

     
  3. hayjames83

    April 11, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    Ok I have now fulfilled my best friend duty 🙂 but idk how to subscribe to the blog.

     

Leave a Reply

 
