RSS

Why I’m on a weight loss journey…

22 Jan

When I first started this blog, it was all about baking, and cakes. Those who know me know that I can talk cake all day long if I’m allowed. But what you probably don’t know is that I struggle with wanting to bake, when I know that with all those yummy sweets in the house, it’s just temptation overload. Who can resist some fresh baked chocolate cake, or a yummy cheesecake? It’s hard.

So I branched out into doing crafts and fun projects of that nature to help fill in the void from when I’m not baking. But now today I bring you the real reason why I don’t bake all the time, why I struggle with wanting sweets in the house, and why I am bringing you posts that focus on healthier muffins instead of cakes.

20140122_065920 20140122_065907

That’s me….

Well let’s clear this up, that’s me in 02. I weighed 115lbs and was in great physical shape.

Pretty good right?

Well this is me now:

DSCF6751

At the time of this picture my weight was 179. See the disappointment on my face? Yeah that’s because I’m not happy with myself. Last September, I started this journey along with my sister in law from Eccentric Chai At my heaviest I weighed 186…. Sad to say.

I’m not going to lie, watching my sister in law with her pregnancy was hard for me. She’s one of those women who when pregnant look like she just took a ball and put it under her shirt. I swear. It was disheartening for me because with my son I put on weight EVERYWHERE… not just my belly, but everywhere.

Don’t get me wrong, Lina’s amazing, she’s a wonderful mom, a great writer, and a great photographer. She’s even branched out into her own baking, and I may have some competition there too. She’s wonderful. But I couldn’t help but be jealous when she started her journey and only had 10 pounds to loose. I have 50 to go yet to be at an ideal weight for my height and age.

But with the encouragement of my sister I lost 10 pounds! And then put 3 back on, but I was on my way.

Then right before Christmas I found this great community of women, some moms, some not, but all who shared a common goal. To get in shape and be “bikini body mommies” The founder of this program lost 100 pounds herself, and is helping to inspire other women to be better. With this community I’ve learned that it doesn’t matter what time of day exercise, only that you do. It doesn’t matter that on your first day of each new week you totally suck at the workouts, because hey, by then end of the week, you kicked that Monday’s workout in the ass!

These women have shown me that you can be total strangers, and still have someone push you everyday to be better than the day before. I’ve also learned that it’s not too late to start a transformation of your own. Brianna has a challenge going right now, but she encourages people to start on day 1, day 8, day 15, whenever you feel comfortable.

With the help of Lina and all the ladies on the bikini body mommy challenge I’m confident that my reasons for wanting to loose weight and live a healthier lifestyle will be encouraged. I have 3 great reasons for wanting to be healthier.

alisha in june wyatt in june family

My 2 beautiful kids, and my wonderful husband. I want to be able to do things with them, to keep up with them and I can’t do that if I’m out of shape.

So as of today I’m down 12.2 pounds, and 13 inches from all over, which is a great start. I’m going to keep going to hit my goal weight, and I hope I can share the rest of my journey with you all.

Are you on a journey? Are you ready to share? Post links to your journey below, and I will follow along with you and help provide some encouragement along the way!

Good luck!

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 22, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Why I’m on a weight loss journey…

  1. advocare distributor

    January 22, 2014 at 9:04 pm

    Good job!!! I am glad that your group has been there to support and help you and I am sure that they went over the little changes that will have a huge impact on accelerating you to your goal. Here to all the best.

    Advocare Distributor
    Nutrition + Fitness = Health
    For information visit: http://www.AdvoCare.com/13087657

     
    • bakingchani

      January 23, 2014 at 6:27 am

      Thanks, yeah my team has been a huge help. I don’t think I would have been able to keep going without them.

       
  2. brewer317

    January 22, 2014 at 11:31 pm

    Good job so far! I’ll be following you. I’m in school to become a registered dietitian and my blog might help you in your healthy eating/weight loss journey. You can check it out at http://whatmattersnutrition.wordpress.com/

     
    • bakingchani

      January 23, 2014 at 6:26 am

      Thanks! I’ll be sure to stop by and check yours out. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
