RSS

On the go pasta salad

01 May
On the go pasta salad

Happy Thursday everyone!

Today I thought I’d share again with you one of my meals. An easy pasta salad, that you can put together in a canning jar the night before and take with you when you leave for work. Let me tell you I am in love with quick meals in jars. This is another just toss it in your bag and eat when you are hungry type meals.

It’s really easy to make. You’re going to need:

20140430_181930

3/4 c rotini- I used garden, it’s my favorite. (and a sneaky way to sneak those veggies in if you have picky eaters.)

4 Tbsp. fat free ranch dressing

1/2 c diced carrots

4 grape tomatoes- I diced mine, but you can halve them if you prefer

and not pictured but 15 small shrimp with the tails removed.

All you have to do is cook your pasta to al dente, and then after you drain it run it under some cold water so that it stops the cooking process.

While that’s cooking cook your shrimp- I just did mine in a 400º oven for about 4 minutes.

Once everything is cool, because you don’t want to mix the cold and hot- it could break your jar, start layering everything in. First your dressing:

20140430_181100

Then your pasta:

20140430_181126

Then your veggies:

20140430_181141

Then your shrimp, and I also chopped up a hard boiled egg, because I just can’t get enough of them in any of my salads, plus eggs are full of protein to keep you full:

20140430_181447

And that’s it. The best thing about this is that there is still room in the top to just be able to shake the jar up and get every last bit covered in the dressing!

As I did with my last post I’m going to give you the caloric breakdown,

  • Calories: 454.6
  • Total Fat:5.6 g
  • Cholesterol:330.0 mg
  • Total Carbs:72.1 g
  • Dietary Fiber:3.8 g
  • Protein: 23.6 g

<!–See Full Information–>   Yes it does have more calories in it than normal, but still not too bad if you use it as your lunch- it’s got 23g of protein so it’ll help keep you fuller longer, and really do you need that much pasta in a meal?

You could make this with whole wheat pasta instead of white, and that would greatly drop the calorie count, but I’m not too much of a whole wheat person myself, so I’ll just suck it up and hit the treadmill extra hard tonight. 🙂

Do you have a great pasta salad recipe that you can use as a meal, eat on the go? If so share it below, I’d love to try it out!

Until next time,

Happy cooking!

Chani

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 1, 2014 in Recipe of the week

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
